Reviews & Articles

Selected Articles & Reviews

Such is the Power of Music: British pianist James Rhodes talks to me about his literary debut, Instrumental: A Memoir of Madness, Medication, and Music, for the LA Review of Books, June 2017. 

The House of Memory Playlist: Jared Young talks to me about Into the Current, a stylish existential thrill ride and his debut novel. The Puritan, November 2016.

The Fantastic Worlds of Guy Gavriel Kay: I talk with Kay about his new novel and the role of the fantastic in contemporary literature, for the LA Review of Books, August 2016.

Following the intensity of signals: I talk with Alissa York about her new novel, The Naturalist, for Hazlitt, April 12, 2016.

I’m where you are: I talked with Heather O’Neill about Daydreams for Angels for the Los Angeles Review of Books, December 5, 2015.

What I was flying towards: I talk with Helen Macdonald about H is for Hawk for the Los Angeles Review of Books, April 28, 2015.

Facing the music: I review Kim Echlin’s new novel for Globe Books, Sat March 7, 2015.

We’re in this barroom brawl together: I talk to Miriam Toews about her new book, All My Puny Sorrows, for the Los Angeles Review of Books, November 14, 2014.

Medicine Walk: A story of a native family,” a review of Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese for the Globe and Mail, April 12, 2014.

The Millions Interview: We Were Searching for a Reason. Claire Cameron and I talk bears, narrative constraints, and being bushed. March 19, 2014.

Podcast interview with Shelagh Rogers, Shelagh as you’ve never seen her: in the guest chair. All part of the fundraising fun for Project Bookmark Canada, Summer 2013.

Burden of proof, a profile of Métis blogger Chelsea Vowel, aka âpihtawikosisân. Eighteen Bridges, December 19, 2012. (Winner of Silver, Society category, National Magazine Awards, and Silver, Profile category, 2013 Showcase Awards.)

Moth finds her own way” a review of The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay in the Globe and Mail, November 5, 2011.

“It’s a boy! It’s a girl! It’s…,” a review of Annabel by Kathleen Winter in the Globe and Mail, June 26, 2010.

99 Ways to Tell a Story,” a Buried Treasures review of Raymond Queneau’s Exercises in Style in the Globe and Mail, August 28, 2009.

Podcast interview with poet Adam Sol on his new novel-in-poems, Jeremiah, Ohio. Bookninja.com magazine, Winter 2009.

“Plainly, it’s innocence and experience,” a review of Journey Prize Stories 19. Globe and Mail, December 15, 2007.

Podcast interview with author Alissa York about her new novel, Effigy. Bookninja.com, Winter 2008.

Weighty themes playfully explored,” a review of Effigy by Alissa York in Books in Canada, October 2007

Podcast interview with author Guy Gavriel Kay: Men writing women, what sparks inspiration, the changes writers undergo over their careers, intelligent characters, the boundaries writers of all genres face, and the strength of myth. Bookninja.com, Summer 2007.

Subverting expectations,” a review of Pleased to meet you by Caroline Adderson in Books in Canada, May/June 2007

Prescription for success,” a review of Vincent Lam’s Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures, in Women’s Post, Feb 2007.

“It’s the Journey, not the arrival,” a review of Journey Prize Stories 18, in The Globe and Mail, Saturday November 18, 2006.

Love, loss, and the lines of time,” a review of Madelein Thein’s Certainty, in The Women’s Post, September 2006.

“The Likelihood of Snow in Turkey,” a review, with poet Adam Sol, of Orham Pamuk’s Snow, Bookninja.com, Spring 2006.

“The short story, alive and thriving,” a review of Journey prize stories 17 and Short Stuff: New English Stories from Quebec, in Books in Canada, May 2006.

“Persephone takes Miami,” a review of Gail Godwin’s Queen of the Underworld, in The Globe and Mail, Saturday April 8, 2006.

Unlikely coalition,” a review of A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby, in Books in Canada, December 2005.

“Suras, sutures, sun and sweetness,” a review of Sweetness in the Belly by Camilla Gibb, in The Women’s Post, October 2005.


Selected articles

Biting bark in Prince George
Profile of Cree Artist Angelique Merasty Levac
Homemaker’s magazine, June 2008.

Bilingual baby
Parents may worry about confusion, but little kids are well equipped to parlez-vous when more than one language is spoken at home.
Today’s Parent, Winter 2005.

Mothers and Daughters
When two generations become three, there’s new emotional terrain to navigate.
Today’s Parent, Autumn 2005.

Tough and tumble
Most toddlers outgrow aggression as they build verbal and social skills, but five to 10 per cent of Canadian kids continue on an aggressive path.
Canadian Living, October 2004.

To Sleep, Perchance
Canadian Living, September 2003.

Goodnight, Sleep Right
Canadian Living, October 2003.

Night Owls, Day Dreamers
Canadian Living, November 2003.

Robin Duke
Caught in the act. (Profile of actor/comedienne Robin Duke.)
Today’s Parent, June 2002.

Getting the word out
How to help children who stutter.
Today’s Parent, January 2002.

You’ve got soliloquy
Email is not only replacing conversations, studies suggest. As Christine Fischer Guy reports, it’s changing our whole style of communication–or lack of it.
Globe and Mail, Sat September 28, 2002.